Year End Awards

As another season comes to an end for the Fernie Ghostriders, the team held their year-end awards banquet for the players, staff, board members, billets, and families this past Sunday night. As the organization says goodbye to three graduating players, President Barb Anderson and the coaching staff handed out team jerseys and Ghostriders watches to the 20-year-old players.

This year’s team MVP trophy was split between Kort Kisinger and Ethan MacDuff. Kort finished the season with 18 goals and 26 assists in 41 games played. Ethan finished the year with 18 goals and 18 assists in 39 games. Kort was also named the Top Scorer of the team for the second straight season.

The Top Defenceman of the team was awarded to Scott Sinclair who became an important two-way defenceman for the Ghostriders this season and will be looking to improve on playing a complete game next season.

Below is a list of all the award winners this season for the Ghostriders. The Ghostriders organization would like to thank all the players for their hard work and commitment during the past season and would like to acknowledge the sincere gratitude for their contributions to the community of Fernie and Elk Valley region.

Most Improved – Hayden Grabas
Most Inspirational – Mathew Schulmeister
Rookie of the Year – Cole Fisher
Community Service Award – Kyle Klein
Most Exciting – Jock Michael
Top Defensive Forward – Rylan Cardinal
Top Forward – Dayton Nelson
Top Defenseman – Scott Sinclair
Top Scorer – Kort Kisinger
Playoff MVP – Matthew Schulmeister
MVP – Kort Kisinger/ Ethan MacDuff
Volunteer of the Year – Adam McNaughton